The list of invitees for the 31st Annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau has been unveiled.
The one-day big wave riding competition will only get underway when waves meet or exceed the Hawaiian 20-foot minimum (40 feet for the rest of the world). The waiting period runs from December 1st, 2015, through February 29th, 2016.

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau has only been held a total of eight times, most recently on December 9th, 2009, won by Greg Long. The list of 28 invitees includes names from Aaron Gold to Tom Carroll.

The big wave surfing event takes place in Waimea Bay and honors the life of Eddie Aikau, the legendary Hawaiian surfer, lifeguard and waterman who lost his life at only 31, when double-hulled voyaging canoe Hokule'a capsized 12 miles south of Molokai. Aikau tried to paddle towards Lanai on his surfboard, but he was never seen again.

The opening ceremony for the 2015/2016 Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau will take place December 3rd, 3 pm, at Waimea Bay. The exhibition "The Big Wave Riders of Hawaii" will display stunning photos of iconic Hawaiian surfers as shot through the eyes of Bernard Testemale.

Winners of the event include Denton Miyamura (1984/1985), Clyde Aikau (1986/1987), Keone Downing (1989/1990), Noah Johnson (1998/1999), Ross Clarke-Jones (2000/2001), Bruce Irons (2004/2005), Kelly Slater (2001/2002), Greg Long (2009/2010).

31st Annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau | 2015/2016 Invitees

Aaron Gold
Albee Layer
Bruce Irons
Clyde Aikau
Dave Wassel
Garrett McNamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie Mitchell
Jamie O'Brien
Jeremy Flores
John John Florence
Kala Alexander
Kelly Slater
Kohl Christensen
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Nathan Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Peter Mel
Ramon Navarro
Reef McIntosh
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll

Official Alternates | Seeding Order

Mason Ho (Aikau Pick)
Danilo Couto
Mark Matthews
Koa Rothman
Ben Wilkinson
Jamie Sterling
Billy Kemper
Shawn Dollar
Carlos Burle
Kealii Mamala
Gabriel Villaran
Michael Ho
Kai Lenny
Kahea Hart
Nathan Florence
Damien Hobgood
Kalani Chapman
Ryan Hipwood
Danny Fuller
Nic Lamb
Anthony Tashnick
Rusty Long
Derek Dunfee
Brock Little